Our Events

Our Events

The House of Bread holds many regular events, please take a look at each following event page for more information, or below for the dates of these events.

Our main events are Retreat Days, Soaking Prayer and Teaching Days.

In addition to these events, the invitation is open to all to join us for our weekday times when we gather as a community:

  • Prayer 9-9.30am in the Barn

  • Holy Communion at 12.30pm in the Barn

  • The Barn - all are welcome to come and spend time in the Barn any time between 9am-9pm daily.

the house of bread

Events Diary

Soaking Prayer

Soaking prayer is a time to rest and wait in God’s presence, it is a time to listen and receive. As we draw close to God, He promises to draw close to us. We have been deeply encouraged, strengthened and healed as we have taken time to be still before God. You are warmly invited to come and join us.

‘Come , all you who are thirsty, come to the waters…listen, listen to me…’ Isaiah 55

‘Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him…’ Psalm 37

Tuesday Evening 8pm – 9.30pm (7.30pm coffee). No booking required.
16th January
20th February
20th March
17th April
15th May
19th June
17th July
18th September
16th October
20th November
18th December (Christmas meditation)

Abiding

To coincide with the Thursday soaking prayer time each month we invite you to come along – for the whole or part of the morning to spend time with God – simply time to abide in him! (John 15)

9am: worship and praise
10am: coffee
10.30am: Soaking prayer
11.45am: Time on your own/receive prayer
12.30pm: Holy Communion
1pm: Finish (or join ‘Standing in the Gap prayer for Israel and the Middle East’)

1st Thursday of Every Month 9am – 1pm. No booking required.
4th January
1st February
1st March
5th April
3rd May
7th June
5th July
6th September
4th October
1st November
6th December

Retreat Days

We invite you to draw aside, to take time to rest and be still in God’s presence. We have guided retreat days during the year, and we also have retreat weeks.
Guided day retreats… join us for the day, with short times of teaching, time together and time on your own.
Please contact The House of Bread to book a place on one or more of the following dates…

10am – 5pm retreat (9.30am coffee) and lunch will be provided.
 Tuesday 30th January
Wednesday 21st March
Tuesday 15th May
Tuesday 10th July
Wednesday 17th October
Tuesday 4th December

Retreat Weeks

You are welcome to come as a day guest for as many days as you like, or you can book in for overnight accommodation. During the course of the retreat weeks, you are welcome to join in with as much or as little as you like. There will be various times of worship, prayer, soaking prayer, short teachings and Bible meditations. Please note that all guests will need to bring their own food and will have use of a fully equipped kitchen.

Please contact The House of Bread to book a place as a day or residential guest.

Monday 29th January – Friday 2nd February
Monday 26th March – Friday 30th March (with a focus on The Passion of Christ)
Monday 9th July – Friday 13th July
Monday 15th October – Friday 19th October
Monday 3rd December – Friday 7th December

Easter Meditation – On the Cross of the Christ

You are invited to join us for a time of reflection and stillness in the lead up to Easter.

With times of quiet, alongside contemplative music, we will be listening and meditating on the scriptures relating to the passion of Christ – and reflecting on Why Jesus died.

8pm (coffee from 7.30pm) – each evening will have a different focus. No booking required.
Tuesday 27th March
Wednesday 28th March
Thursday 29th March
Friday 30th March

Christmas Meditation

You are invited to join us for a time of reflection and stillness in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the Christmas season.

By candle light, We will be listening to music, scriptures and meditations that lead us to the birth of our Saviour Jesus Christ.

Tuesday 18th December – 8pm (coffee from 7.30pm). No booking required.

Standing in the Gap

If you are passionate or would like to be passionate about interceding for Great Britain and/or Israel and the Middle East, we would love you to join us.

No booking required

“Intercession is the match which lights the fuse to release the explosive power of the Holy Spirit in the affairs of men.” Joy Dawson – ‘Intercession, Thrilling and Fulfilling’

Great Britain

The third Thursday of every month from 12.30pm-2pm (beginning with Holy Communion)

Thurs 18th Jan Thurs 19th July
Thurs 15th Feb Thurs 16th Aug
Thurs 15th Mar Thurs 20th Sept
Thurs 19th Apr Thurs 18th Oct
Thurs 17th May Thurs 15th Nov
Thurs 21st June Thurs 20th Dec

Israel and the Middle East

The first Thursday of every month from 12.30pm-2pm (beginning with Holy Communion)
12.30pm – 2pm, beginning with Holy Communion.

Thurs 4th Jan Thurs 5th July
Thurs 1st Feb Thurs 2nd Aug
Thurs 1st Mar Thurs 6th Sept
Thurs 5th April Thurs 4th Oct
Thurs 3rd May Thurs 1st Nov
Thurs 7th June Thurs 6th Dec

‘Encourage’ – Men’s breakfasts

In 2018, we will be hosting three men’s breakfasts called ‘Encourage.’ We invite men of all ages to join us for bacon butties, and inspiring testimony from guest speakers. Please contact The House of Bread to find out further information or book a place.

8.30am-10am on the following dates…

Saturday 24th February
Our guest speaker is James Kennedy, who is a vicar at St Mary’s, Chipping Norton. Come and be inspired and refreshed by his testimony and journey, and the goodness and faithfulness of God.

Saturday 16th June
Guest speaker to be confirmed.

Saturday 13th October
Guest speaker to be confirmed.

‘Going Deeper’ Teaching Mornings

Do you want to go deeper in your relationship with God and know more about the Kingdom of God? You are invited to join us for some sound, Biblical and inspiring teaching.

Please contact The House of Bread to book a place

From 10am – 1pm (coffee from 9.45pm)

Sat 27th Jan Principles of Kingdom stewardship and the power of it working in your life
Sat 24th Mar The favour of God
Sat 19th May The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom
Sat 14th Jul Healing
Sat 29th Sep Praying with fire
Sat 24th Nov A lifestyle of thanksgiving

We look forward to welcoming you to The House of Bread.

We do not charge for any of the events hosted by The House of Bread. The Trust relies on the generosity of each group or individual for its financial support. Guests are invited to make a financial gift to the House of Bread when they come and spend time here.